Malaysian League


A football league competition involving the representative sides of the state football assiociations was first held in Malaysia in 1979. When it began, it was intended primarily as a qualifying tournament for the final knock-out stages of the Malaysia Cup. It was not until until 1982 that a League Cup was introduced to recognise the winners of the preliminary stage as the league champions. Over the years, the league competition has gained important stature in its own right.
Initially the only teams only allowed to participate in the league were the state FA's sides, teams representing the Armed Forces and the Police, and teams representing the neighbouring countries of Singapore and Brunei (though the Football Association of Singapore pulled out of the Malaysian League after the 1994 season following a dispute with the Football Association of Malaysia over gate receipts, and has not been involved since). In recent years, top Malaysian club teams have also been admitted to the league competition.

Between 1989 to 1993 and 1998 to 2003, the football league in Malaysia was divided into two levels:
Between 1994 to 1997, there was no second level league as the top two leagues were combined.

Between 2004 to 2006, the professional football league in Malaysia was divided into 2 levels and 2 groups:
  • First Division: Malaysia Super League
  • Second Division: Malaysia Premier League Group A
  • Second Division: Malaysia Premier League Group B
Between 2007 until now, the professional football league in Malaysia was only divided into 2 levels when Malaysia Premier League combined into 1 level:
  • First Division: Malaysia Super League
  • Second Division: Malaysia Premier League

Malaysia Cup

The Malaysia Cup is a highly-prestigious annual soccer tournament in Malaysia. It is currently the longest-running football competition in Asia.
The competition is currently played at the end of each year's football season, and is contested by the 16 most successful teams in Malaysia's football league of that year.
The tournament began in 1921, when it was called the Malaya Cup. The original trophy was presented by the officers and men of a British battleship, the HMS Malaya. In honour of this, the competition was renamed the HMS Malaya Cup in 1933. A new trophy was inaugurated in 1967, and since then the competition has been known as the Malaysia Cup.
A league competition was introduced in Malaysia in 1979. Since then, the Malaysia Cup has been held after the conclusion of the league each year, with only the best-performing teams in the league qualifying for the Malaysia Cup. When the league began, it was intended primarily as a qualifying tournament for the Malaysia Cup. However over the years, the league competition has gained important stature in its own right.

Past Winners (1921-2010)

YearChampionsRunners-upScore in final
2010Kelantan Kelantan FANegeri Sembilan Negeri Sembilan FA2-1
2009Negeri Sembilan Negeri Sembilan FAKelantan Kelantan FA3-1
2008Kedah Kedah FASelangor Selangor FA3-2
2007Kedah Kedah FAPerak Perak FA3-0
2006Perlis Perlis FANegeri Sembilan Negeri Sembilan FA2-1
2005Selangor Selangor FAPerlis Perlis FA3-0
2004Perlis Perlis FAKedah Kedah FA1-0
2003Selangor MPPJ Selangor FCSabah Sabah FA3-0
2002Selangor Selangor FASabah Sabah FA1-0
2001Terengganu Terengganu FAPerak Perak FA2-1
2000Perak Perak FANegeri Sembilan Negeri Sembilan FA2-0
1999Brunei Brunei FASarawak Sarawak FA2-1
1998Perak Perak FATerengganu Terengganu FA1-1 (5-3 penalties)
1997Selangor Selangor FAPahang Pahang FA1-0
1996Selangor Selangor FASabah Sabah FA1-1 (5-3 penalties)
1995Selangor Selangor FAPahang Pahang FA1-0
1994Singapore Singapore FAPahang Pahang FA4-0
1993Kedah Kedah FASingapore Singapore FA2-0
1992Pahang Pahang FAKedah Kedah FA1-0
1991Johor Johor FASelangor Selangor FA3-1
1990Kedah Kedah FASingapore Singapore FA3-1
1989Kuala Lumpur Kuala Lumpur FAKedah Kedah FA2-1
1988Kuala Lumpur Kuala Lumpur FAKedah Kedah FA3-0
1987Kuala Lumpur Kuala Lumpur FAKedah Kedah FA1-0
1986Selangor Selangor FAJohor Johor FA6-1
1985Johor Johor FAKuala Lumpur Kuala Lumpur FA2-0
1984Selangor Selangor FAPahang Pahang FA3-1
1983Pahang Pahang FASelangor Selangor FA3-2
1982Selangor Selangor FATerengganu Terengganu FA1-0
1981Selangor Selangor FASingapore Singapore FA4-0
1980Singapore Singapore FASelangor Selangor FA2-1
1979Selangor Selangor FASingapore Singapore FA2-0
1978Selangor Selangor FASingapore Singapore FA4-2
1977Singapore Singapore FAPenang Penang FA3-2
1976Selangor Selangor FASingapore Singapore FA3-0
1975Selangor Selangor FASingapore Singapore FA1-0
1974Penang Penang FAPerak Perak FA2-1
1973Selangor Selangor FATerengganu Terengganu FA2-1
1972Selangor Selangor FAPerak Perak FA3-0
1971Selangor Selangor FAPerak Perak FA3-1
1970Perak Perak FAKelantan Kelantan FA2-0
1969Selangor Selangor FAPenang Penang FA1-0
1968Selangor Selangor FAPenang Penang FA8-1
1967Perak Perak FASingapore Singapore FA2-1
1966Selangor Selangor FAKuala Lumpur Armed Forces1-0
1965Singapore Singapore FASelangor Selangor FA3-1
1964Singapore Singapore FAPerak Perak FA3-2
1963Selangor Selangor FAPenang Penang FA6-2
1962Selangor Selangor FAPenang Penang FA1-0
1961Selangor Selangor FAPerak Perak FA4-2
1960Singapore Singapore FAPerak Perak FA2-0
1959Selangor Selangor FAPerak Perak FA4-0
1958Penang Penang FASingapore Singapore FA3-3, 3-1
1957Perak Perak FASelangor Selangor FA3-2
1956Selangor Selangor FASingapore Singapore FA2-1
1955Singapore Singapore FAKelantan Kelantan FA3-1
1954Penang Penang FASingapore Singapore FA3-0
1953Penang Penang FASingapore Singapore FA3-2
1952Singapore Singapore FAPenang Penang FA3-2
1951Singapore Singapore FAPerak Perak FA6-0
1950Singapore Singapore FAPenang Penang FA2-0
1949Selangor Selangor FAKuala Lumpur Armed Forces3-2
1948Negeri Sembilan Negeri Sembilan FASelangor Selangor FA2-2, 2-1
1942-47Not Played
1941Singapore Singapore FAPenang Penang FA2-1
1940Singapore Singapore FAKedah Kedah FA2-0
1939Singapore Singapore FASelangor Selangor FA3-1
1938Selangor Selangor FASingapore Singapore FA1-0
1937Singapore Singapore FASelangor Selangor FA2-1
1936Selangor Selangor FASingapore Singapore FA1-0
1935Selangor Selangor FASingapore Singapore FA3-2
1934Singapore Singapore FAPenang Penang FA2-1
1933Singapore Singapore FASelangor Selangor FA8-2
1932Singapore Singapore FASelangor Selangor FA5-3
1931Perak Perak FASingapore Singapore FA3-1
1930Singapore Singapore FASelangor Selangor FA3-0
1929Selangor Selangor FA & Singapore Singapore FA (joint winners)2-2
1928Selangor Selangor FA & Singapore Singapore FA (joint winners)2-2
1927Selangor Selangor FASingapore Singapore FA8-1
1926Perak Perak FASingapore Singapore FA1-0
1925Singapore Singapore FASelangor Selangor FA2-1
1924Singapore Singapore FASelangor Selangor FA1-0
1923Singapore Singapore FAPerak Perak FA2-1
1922Selangor Selangor FASingapore Singapore FA3-2
1921Singapore Singapore FASelangor Selangor FA2-1

FA Cup

The Malaysia FA Cup is a national knock-out soccer competition organised by the Football Association of Malaysia. This trophy was introduced in 1990.