Wednesday, 14 December 2011

Increase in prize money for Malaysian league champions next season

The prize money for the 2012 Super and Premier league champions has been increased by 50 per cent, announced FA of Malaysia (FAM) vice-president Datuk Hamidin Mohd Amin today.

For the Super League, the winners will now take home RM750,000 (RM500,000 previously) while the runners-up will get RM450,000 and second runner-up RM300,000.

As for the Premier League, the new amounts are RM300,000, RM150,000 and RM75,000 respectively.

"FAM's finance committee has approved the new rates," Hamidin, who is also chairman of FAM's local competitions committee, told a press conference after the draw for the teams in the 2012 M-League, here.

He said the 14 teams in 2012 Super League and 12 in the Premier League would also receive higher grants based on their respective performance.

"The Super League champions will receive a grant of RM325,024 while the Premier League winners RM160,728. The rest will receive grants based on their respective performance in their leagues.

"This incentive is only for local teams and Singapore's Lions XII (Under-23 team) are not eligible. But they are entitled to the prize money offered," he said.

Commenting on the ages of 10 Lions XII players which have exceeded 23 years, Hamidin said FAM had to honour the four-year contract signed by both parties on July 12 at Wisma FAM.

"The contract allows for the Lions XII and also Harimau Muda A (the Malaysian team playing in the Singapore League) to hire 25 players below 23 and 10 above 23," he said, adding that the initiative was part of FAM's reforms for the next season.

Among the Lions XII players who are above 23 years are defender Juma'at Jantan (27), midfielders Isa Halim (25) and Shahril Ishak (28) and striker Agu Casmir (27).

Hamidin said the contract also provided for the reviving of the National Series involving both countries scheduled to take off in June and also exchange of referees.

He added that football competitions involving the Under 23, 21, 19, 17 and  15 teams of both countries would also begin next year.

No comments:

Post a Comment